The District administration Anantnag today organized to mark the International Day for Disaster Reduction to raise awareness on the importance of building more disaster resilient communities and to promote risk-awareness.

“When major disasters strike, survival of people and the recovery of whole communities is inextricably linked to the survival of animals”. The 2017 edition is continued as part of the “Sendai Seven” campaign, centered on the seven targets of the Sendai Framework.

World Animal Protection, an global non-profit animal welfare organisation, said millions of poor people rely on their animals for food, transport and their livelihoods, and when disasters strike, the impact is devastating for the animals and the communities that depend on them. The theme of IDDR for the year 2017 is ‘Home Safe Home: REDUCING EXPOSURE, REDUCING DISPLACEMENT’. He particularly appreciated the innovations which were displayed at the exhibition.

On the occasion, the DC said that the district is prone to multiple disasters and concerted efforts need to be made for disaster mitigation.

Later, a mock drill was also conducted wherein different aspects of risk reduction and disaster mitigation activities were undertaken. Several prominent persons including Mangaldai MLA Gurujyoti Das, Darrang Deputy Commissioner Ashok Kumar Barman, Additional Deputy Commissioner in charge of DDMA, Bidyut Bikash Bhagawati, Dr Budhin Hazarika, principal, Kharupetia College, Dr Nirmal Chandra Beriya, SDM&HO, Darrang, and Yubraj Borthakur, Circle Officer, Dalgaon Revenue Circle, explained the significance of observing the day to ensure risk reduction with regard to natural and man-made disasters.

The exhibition titled “Innovation Challenge for Disaster Risk Reduction” which was conducted on the occasion witnessed some unique innovation from various institutions and individuals from ‘within and outside the state giving solutions for various hazards like storm, fire, quake and flood. The meeting was also attended by teachers and students of several local schools, government officials and staff and other members of the public.